Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation

wp-1452047858185.png

Hello loves!

As most of you guys know, the drugstore has been coming out with a ton of products. Seems like every drugstore brand has a new foundation or lip product out. So you know I had to purchase almost of all it and do some reviews for you guys. This review is going to be on three new Maybelline goodies: the blending sponge, foundation, and setting spray. Now on to the review..

Maybelline Soft-Matte Foundation+Dream Blender

wp-1452047779697.png

  • $10.99
  • Mousse-like texture
  • Not sticky
  • Medium to Full coverage
  • Buildable
  • Matte but not flat
  • Looks better over time
  • No flashback
  • Glides over pores and fine lines
  • Control oils

My favorite drugstore foundation at the moment! It is beautiful on the skin. I am typically not into matte foundations, I am all about the glow but this is exactly what is says a “soft-matte”. It will keep you matte but still allow for your skin to look healthy. The weird thing about this foundation is that is looks good over time. When you first apply it, it looks bomb. But after an hour, it looks even better. I like to really test out a foundations by how it looks after doing a full class of Zumba and this foundation definitely passed the test. My skin literally looked as if I had just applied it. For it to be drugstore, I think it is comparable to some high-end foundations. The only down side to this foundation is the color selection, I am in the shade Caramel, which is the second to darkest shade in the collection. Which is a bummer for my deeper skinned gals. Now the Dream Blender was a complete fail. The directions say to wet the sponge then apply, but I don’t know why it says that because the sponge stays completely firm as if it was dry in the first place. I think that Maybelline tried to do something new and different from all the other drugstore brands, but it just did not work out for me. I also felt like it soaked up a lot of the foundation into the sponge. It was $5.99, so I was definitely a little disappointed. Let me know if you guys tried it, maybe I am using it wrong.

Click here to purchase the foundation

Click here to purchase the blender

Maybelline Master Fix Setting Spray

  • $12.99
  • Terrible smell
  • Cap gives an even spray of product
  • Sleek black packaging
  • Similar to the L’Oreal Infallible Setting Spray
  • Oil free
  • Extends the longevity of makeup
  • Absorbs into the skin quickly
  • Does leave water spots on the face at times

I am sorry to say I do not like this setting spray. It really is the same formula as the L’Oreal setting spray, which I hated as well. I feel like anything that is meant to spray, should smell good. If you can get over the smell and spray far away from your face in order to not get water spots, then you may like this setting spray. For the price, I would rather purchase the NYX setting sprays for only $7.99.

Click here to purchase the spray

Final Thoughts:

Out of all three of these new items, I would definitely purchase the foundation. It really is LIFE. I have not used another foundation since I have purchased it. If you guys like any of these products, please let me know I would love to hear your thoughts on them…

P.S: I am trying something new with my products pictures. I am kind of over the white background, and I want to spark things up with some glittery backgrounds. Let me know how you feel about it…

Thanks for reading!

Heart,

Diamon Brown

 

 

6 thoughts on “Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation

    • diamonbeauty says:

      I am in NC 45 as well in mac. Try the caramel shade in this foundation, it may be a little dark but it looks fine with some highlighting. In L’Oréal true match foundation I am in the shade W8 which fits me perfectly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

